Moon Palace

This is a book by Paul Auster, an American author. It is a story of the travails of an American young man. He is he only child of a single mother and she dies when he is quite young. By and large, life seems to happen to him and when he does make decisions to give life more direction he usually succeeds in making things worse rather than better. Slightly dysfunctional, in “the catcher in the rye” sort of way but not from a psychological problem but rather from poor decision-making (not assisted in decision-making by an experienced adult?). There are a number of coincidences that seem to me a little unbelievable, the storyline isn’t “a gripping page-turner” but I really enjoyed the book – so it must be the quality of the writing that I enjoyed. I suspect that it is the kind of book Don might like.

One thought on “Moon Palace

  1. Right! I’m quite a fan of Paul Auster, ever since reading the New York Trilogy which I mentioned in a recent blog entry. One thing he does is to throw lots of unfinished story ideas into a book as if to show he is never short of an idea. Sometimes he’s very post-modern, which I like a lot. Occasionally he bombs out as he did in Brooklyn Follies.
    I didn’t read this Moon Palace. Must take a look.

    Like

Leave a comment