Caught Out

Review: Catch 22 by Joseph Heller

I dropped into Goodreads to see what people thought of the so-called classic because I for one was deeply disappointed. I had read it before but so long ago that I didn’t remember much, not even that it was so disappointing.

Before writing this review, I had a look at some of the 1-star ratings and was not at all surprised to see that many are by women. I know that if I were a woman I’d be very angry about the disgusting way women are treated in the book. Actually, as a man I am too. 

I would sum up what I’ve read as occasionally very funny, often repetitive, occasionally on the ball as social criticism, misogynistic in the extreme, but mostly juvenile nonsense for young boys who can’t get it any other way.

Actually, there’s not much more to say. It doesn’t deserve to have so much ink spilt on it. Imagine, 20,354 reviews (as of today) on Goodreads.

Leave a comment