Tinker, Tailor, Soldier … Schoolboy

The George Smiley Trilogy by John le Carré

  • Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
  • The Honourable Schoolboy
  • Smiley’s People

I’m gasping for breath.  I’ve just finished reading parts I and II and I’m giddy from the adrenaline rush.  I had to write this even before launching into the third instalment. If I could absorb it right away by osmosis, I’d be game.

AlecLe Carré is always great and, of course, we all know parts I and III from the incredible BBC series of the late 70’s when George Smiley became forever Alec Guiness, but there is nothing quite like reading it.  And I didn’t know the Schoolboy, Jerry Westerby; what an incredible and inscrutable character!

I galloped through the book and I’ll have to read it again to understand everything that happened but my evaluation is:

I wish you all finish a book this year feeling like I feel finishing this one

Check out Ted Scheinman’s article for a more coherent but equally effusive review of the complete oeuvre of le Carré.

Leave a comment